The Buzz 2022

A new addition for this year’s programme, ‘The Buzz’ features events chosen specifically to inspire children, teens and young adults. That doesn’t mean to say that they’re not suitable for all ages!


Lucy Strange

Lucy Strange

Sat 12 Feb 10:15 am -11:15 am
£7.00

From the Waterstones Prize-shortlisted author comes a gorgeously spooky, gothic story, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll and Frances Hardinge. Set on a poor Kentish farm surrounded by marshlands, six sisters live in fear of their father, with only their beloved grandmother to try to protect them... Age 9+

Lucy Strange is the highly acclaimed author of The Secret of Nightingale WoodThe Ghost of Gosswater and the Waterstones Prize-shortlisted Our Castle by the Sea.

Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Alfred Moisan

Alfred Moisan

Sat 12 Feb 10:15 am -11:15 am

Top foodies from around the world shared their secrets with Kent-based 12-year-old aspiring chef Alfred Moisan, collected together in his book In Conversation With... Wisdom From the World's Greatest Chefs, and which in its first week of publication outsold Mary Berry, Jamie Oliver and Gordon Ramsay! Alfred talks about his project and all things foodie with Stephen Harris from the Michelin-starred The Sportsman in Whitstable; and Faversham-based Jane Beedle (Great British Bake Off finalist in 2016) and Henry Jeffreys (The Cocktail Dictionary). With host Marnie Summerfield Smith.

A donation from ticket sales for this event will be given to FineFare, the UK's largest charity fighting hunger and tackling food waste.

Tom de Freston and Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Tom de Freston and Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Sat 12 Feb 12:00 pm -1:00 am
£7.00

Local children's author Lucy Strange meets the creators of one of the children's books of the year, Julia and the Shark, to bring to life a tale for all the family about a lighthouse and a quest to find an elusive 400-year-old Greenland shark. A celebration of our wild natural world, as well as an exploration of family relationships and mental health, join Kiran and Tom as they reveal how they set about creating the many layers of this stunning story, one that is guaranteed to stay with you long after you have finished the final page. For 9+ fans of Philip Pullman, David Almond and Frances Hardinge.

Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult at all times.

Scarlett and Sophie Rickard

Scarlett and Sophie Rickard

Sat 12 Feb 2:00 pm -3:00 pm
£7.00

First published in 1914, The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists is Robert Tressell's witty masterpiece about class war, said by George Orwell to be 'a book everyone should read'. It has been turned into a graphic novel by author and illustrator team Sophie and Scarlett Rickard, two sisters with connections to the creative scene in Folkestone. They talk to author, scriptwriter and political activist Julie Wassmer about their amazing best-selling project.

 

Waheed Arian

Waheed Arian

Fri 18 Feb 5:00 pm -6:00 pm

Born in war-torn Afghanistan, Waheed Arian's memoir recounts how he was smuggled to the UK at age 15 with just 100 dollars in his pocket. He found a job in a shop, but had bigger ambitions – he was accepted to read medicine at Cambridge University, Imperial College and Harvard, and went on to become a doctor in the NHS, currently in A&E on the Covid frontline. He is in conversation with Faversham-based Marg Mayne, former CEO of Voluntary Services Overseas (VSO) and former director at the British Council.

 

 

Poetry Slam

Poetry Slam

Fri 18 Feb 7:30 pm -11:30 pm

One of the most important poets of his generation, Raymond Antrobus is our headline poet to kick off the Bookie Slam as it hits the road and returns to Faversham Literary Festival! Host: Connor Sansby.

Raymond Antrobus is an award-winning poet whose writing confronts his deafness, place and memory, miscommunication, sound and silence, and conflicting racial and cultural identities, shifting between England, South Africa, Jamaica, and the American South.

Followed by 10 poets battling it out to be crowned the Bookie Champ and get their shot at the Kentish Poetry Championship Belt.

 

Rob Biddulph

Rob Biddulph

Sat 19 Feb 10:15 am -11:15 am

Join award-winning author and illustrator Rob Biddulph in this fun-packed session for all the family. Rob helped everyone get through lockdown with his brilliant #DrawwithRob videos and now you can join in live with one of his famous draw alongs! Fizzing with fun and creativity, find out all about Rob's journey from budding artist to award-winning picture book creator, Guinness World Record holder, and now middle grade author of Peanut Jones and the Illustrated City. Don't forget to bring your pads and pencils!

Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult at all times; adults need to purchase a ticket for the event.

Sorry, this event is sold out

Anouchka Grose and Maggie Butt

Anouchka Grose and Maggie Butt

Sat 19 Feb 2:00 pm -3:00 pm

Psychoanalyst Anouchka Grose is passionately concerned about the effect of climate crisis on our mental health and has written a book that tackles the growing phenomenon of eco-anxiety. It is a manifesto for action, connection and hope, showing how to harness anxiety for positive action. A member of Writers Rebel (Extinction Rebellion), she talks with Maggie Butt, a member of Poets for the Planet – a group inspired by protests around the world and who believe that the poetry community has an important role to play in calling on a range of voices, experiences and passions to respond to this crucial moment of challenge.

Free event, booking required

Hollie McNish

Hollie McNish

Sat 19 Feb 4:00 pm -5:00 pm

Ted Hughes Award winner Hollie McNish is a poet whose live readings are not to be missed. Expect strong language and adult content ribbon-wrapped in carefully and caringly sculpted poetry as Hollie reads from and chats about her much anticipated new collection: Slug… and other things i’ve been told to hate.

'One of the best poets we have” – Matt Haig

'Like Pam Ayres on acid' – Lemn Sissay

'I like some poetry but not really yours'– Hollie’s daughter 

 

 

Mark Stay and FMA Dixon

Mark Stay and FMA Dixon

Sat 19 Feb 4:00 pm -5:00 pm

Time travel, magic, witches... and happy families! Join Kent authors Mark Stay and FMA Dixon as they exchange ideas, antics and themes that run through their fiction written for teens and young adults... and for all the family!

Mark Stay lives in Herne Bay and is co-presenter of the Bestseller Experiment podcast. He is the author of the Crow Folk series, Robot Overlords, Back to Reality and The End of Magic. FMA Dixon works at University of Kent, and can be found with surprising regularity in London, Paris and New York, assuming you know where to look... and when.

Free event, booking required.

Children under 12 must be accompanied by an adult at all times.