Karina Lickorish Quinn and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo

Karina Lickorish Quinn and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo

Two exciting new debut authors to watch. Host Steven Gale talks to Peruvian-British writer Karina Lickorish Quinn and Ayanna Lloyd Banwo, a writer from Trinidad & Tobago, selected as one of the Observer's 10 Best Debut Novelists of 2022.

Karina Lickorish Quinn is the new face of magical realism, her haunting debut a must for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro.

Ayanna Lloyd Banwo writes about a mother and daughter in an old house on a hill, where the city meets the rainforest – a mythic love story set in Trinidad, in which two unforgettable outsiders are brought together by their connection with the dead. Ayanna's work has been published in The Caribbean Writer, Moko Magazine, Small Axe, POUi, Pree, Callaloo and Anomaly.

They talk with Steven Gale, who has interviewed many eminent authors including Edna O'Brien, Peter Carey, Ben Okri, Claudia Roden, Nigella Lawson and James Ellroy.

Event Information

Event Date Sat 19 Feb 10:15 am
Individual Price £8.00
Location The Old Brewery Store