Neil Alexander

Perfect for fans of Libby Page and Gail Honeyman

, readers are absolutely in love with The Vanishing of Margaret Small, a 75-year-old literary heroine, plain spoken, Whitstable native and a Cilla Black superfan, who becomes embroiled in a mystery that takes her back in time to when she was 'vanished' to a long-stay institution for children with learning disabilities.



Much of the inspiration for Neil Alexander's debut novel came directly from the voices of people who have a learning disability. The first-person accounts of living in long-stay institutions were inspired by his learnings whilst working for the UK charity Mencap. Neil lives in Whitstable.

Host Graeme Bosley also lives in Whitstable, and is studying for an MA in creative writing at Canterbury Christ Church University.

Event Information

Event Date Sat 18 Feb 5:00 pm
Individual Price £7.00
Venue The Guildhall